Thursday, June 21, 2018 | |Login | Search

2017 Annual Meeting Award Winners

The following companies and individuals were recognized at the 2017 Annual Meeting held on May 18, 2017 at noon at the Lincoln Country Club:

Carolina Trust Bank - Campaign Champion Award is given to an organization that puts exceptional efforts into the United Way Campaign and the agencies we serve. This organizations determination, and enthusiasm exemplifies campaign success having 100% employee participation in a workplace campaign. This is the only business in the History of United Way that holds this title.

Carolinas Healthcare System - Lincoln - The Excellence in Leadership Award  is presented to an organization who exemplifies leadership through their involvement not only to United Way but through their community involvement. The recipient of this award works throughout the entire year engaging their employees in making a difference to our community. This prestigious award demonstrates exceptional leadership and service to United Way and the community.

The Timken Company - The Community Impact Award - Is given to a company that has embraced the United Way’s mission to increase the organized capacity to care for one another through support of United Way and our 13 partner agencies. This company whose exemplary service, leadership, and commitment has impacted the community not only for The United Way but every agency we serve and beyond.  

Duke Energy - The Corporate Award is presented to a corporation for demonstrating outstanding commitment through financial support and through encouragement and motivation of others to take leadership roles in philanthropy and community involvement. This company provides two employees to serve on the United Way Board of Director’s, has three employees who are part of the Alexis de Tocqueville Society and 5 employees that served the ARC project and provides ongoing leadership throughout the year to the United Way.

Alexis de Tocqueville Society Donors

Mr. and Mrs. Brew Barron

Mr. and Mrs. Steven Capps

Mr. and Mrs. Repko

Mr. and Mrs. Wayne Vinzant

Kristi Spencer - Volunteer of the Year- is awarded to an individual or individuals who serve the organization in a capacity other than the United Way of Lincoln County Board of Directors. This individual exercises their time and talents to benefit the general fund and/or public perception of United Way.

Dr. Susan Cannon - Elliott Beal Award - The Elliott Beal award is about volunteering.  It is awarded annually to a person that has gone above and beyond the call of service and dedication to the United Way. This individual has served as Campaign Chair, Board Chair, works throughout the year organizing opportunities within her work that strongly impacts the most urgent needs in our community. Each year she organizes a campaign event that includes all of the United Way partner agencies so her employees have the opportunity to learn more about the needs of the community and the partners we serve through the United Way. 

School Awards – Each year the Lincoln County School Central Office rallies the troops and encourages all Lincoln County Schools to get creative in their United Way campaigns. You can see the Central Office walls themed with spirit. We would like to thank Dr. Hager for her leadership in leading our School System.  This year raising the highest amount ever for our Central Office. The winner of  the High School Award stepped up their game and beat our previous winner by $35.04. This year’s winner is West Lincoln High School. The Elementary Award goes to a school that has consistently held this title every year since this award was created.  This school was the winner of the 2014 Spirit of North Carolina Award. They will be hard to beat and the winner is Iron Station Elementary School.

The Aptar Group - Pacesetter Award - The Pacesetter Campaign will lead the effort as it works to raise the first dollars toward meeting the campaign goal. This year’s Pacesetter award not only exceeded its previous year goals but this company and its staff goes above and beyond during their campaign and throughout the year.  This year’s pacesetter of the year increased their campaign by $4,000. 

Governor Volunteer Service Awards

Selections are based on the nominee’s volunteer efforts and commitment of time, accomplishments, community impact and enhancement of the lives of others. 

Asbury United Methodist Church volunteers - Governor's Volunteer Service Medallion Award 

Pastor Ken Spencer is an avid listener, who motivates his congregation and others.  With his leadership, the United Methodist Church has accomplished goals through selflessness, trustworthiness, and determination. His congregation prepares meals to feed the hungry, they participate in the backpack feeding program. Under Pastor Ken’s leadership volunteers are committed to make a difference, teachers and students feel valued.  Asbury United Methodist Church (UMC) was instrumental in the partnership for Asbury Academy and the United Way opening the ARC. Pastor Ken along with members of Asbury UMC have and continue to spend countless hours serving the ARC. We are proud to honor Asbury UMC for the 2017 Medallion Award. 

Governor’s Volunteer Service Award

Katie Lineberger Saine is a full-time wife, mother and employee of Duke Energy. She has been instrumental in working with The United Way’s Executive Director on yearlong plans to support and improve the United Way. Katie goes above and beyond in her support for her community and the United Way.  She uses her creative abilities to creates cards, posters and tickets to promote the United Way which helps donors and community know they are appreciated. She attends all United Way events to support our work.  She has served and solicited other volunteers for our United Way Day of Caring project.  Katie will be leading the Board of Directors in a strategic planning session on June 14, 2017 which further exemplifies her commitment to having worthwhile board engagement at meetings.  

Mark Bradley has the unique ability to involve himself in community service while at the same time including others in the process.  At APTAR he has created a legacy for his employees that have changed their lives and he models a belief that we can be the change for all people by creating an attitude of service above self.  United Way has witnessed the impact The Aptar Company has on their employees through the commitment and services they provide.

Shasta Steele - Christina Arlow Award -This award is given to an individual who exemplifies the spirit of community, leadership and service to his or her community.

Ashton Taylor - Teen Board Award - This award is given to a Teen Board member that goes above and beyond what is expected of Teen Board members.